RedElec Technologie SA is a public limited company created in June 2007. A spin-off of the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich (ETHZ), it is the proponent of an innovative electrochemical process.

The company develops and markets a new electrochemical technology enabling redox (reduction-oxidation) transformations to be undertaken more cost-effectively and with less environmental impact, on the actual production site.


RedElec, an economical and ecological solution

The electrochemical reduction of an aqueous suspension of indigo is the first industrial application of the process developed by RedElec Technologie SA. This transformation is a necessary stage in the cotton dyeing process for the denim industry (the fabric used for the production of jeans).

The RedElec Technologie SA solution enables ready-to-use dye to be produced on the actual denim production site, in other words directly at the ‘point of use’. It is more economical and more environmentally friendly than other processes currently used in the denim industry. In parallel to this primary market, RedElec is also involved in the development of a process for the elimination of refractory pollutants resulting from water treatment. The electrochemical technology offers an advanced oxidation process.

Working for companies in the chemical, pharmaceutical, agrochemical and biotechnological industries, RedElec Technologie SA is researching the electrochemical alternative for the problematic redox transformation stages of their production processes and for the opening up of new synthesis paths. The company is currently optimising the process in the laboratory and monitoring the scale-up to industrial level. It also develops and supplies industrial production installations.

RedElec was awarded the Prix Debiopharm Valais for life sciences in 2009 and the Liechti Foundation award in 2008.


Support of The Ark Foundation

RedElec Technologie joined The Ark’s Incubator at the BioArk site in Monthey in April 2007, and remained there until 2010. Here, the company benefited from infrastructures specially dedicated to its activities. Coaching by The Ark’s Incubator supported the entrepreneur in considering a complete business model and implementing an appropriate legal structure. Substantial support was also given for the establishment of commercial and financial partnerships.


Date founded: 2007
Director: David Crettenand
Address: Rue des Artisans 14, 1908 Riddes
Telephone: +41 (0) 27 306 55 20
Website: www.redelec.ch
Email: davidcrettenand [at] redelec.ch
Number of employees: 3

Fondation The Ark - Route du Rawyl 47 - 1950 Sion - Suisse | Intranet The Ark

Home

Retour

Redelec

RedElec Technologie SA est une société anonyme créée en juin 2007. Spin-off de l’école polytechnique fédérale de Zürich (ETHZ), elle exploite un procédé électrochimique novateur.

L’entreprise développe et commercialise une nouvelle technologie électrochimique permettant d’effectuer des transformations redox (réduction ou oxydation) au meilleur coût économique et environnemental directement sur le site de production.

 

RedElec, une solution économique et écologique

La réduction électrochimique d'une suspension aqueuse d'indigo constitue la première application industrielle du procédé développé par RedElec Technologie SA. Cette transformation constitue une étape nécessaire dans le processus de coloration du coton pour l'industrie du denim (tissu utilisé pour la confection de jeans).

La solution de RedElec Technologie SA permet de produire le colorant prêt à l'emploi, directement sur le site de production du denim, donc directement au 'point of use'. En comparaison avec les procédés actuellement utilisés dans l'industrie du denim, cette solution est plus économique et plus respectueuse de l'environnement. En parallèle à ce premier marché, RedElec s’engage dans le développement d’un procédé pour l’élimination des polluants réfractaires lors du traitement des eaux. La technologie électrochimique permet de réaliser un procédé d’oxydation avancée.

Sur mandat d'entreprises de l'industrie chimique, pharmaceutique, agrochimique et biotechnologique, RedElec Technologie SA étudie l'alternative électrochimique pour des étapes de transformation redox problématiques de leurs procédés de production, ainsi que pour ouvrir de nouvelles voies de synthèse. L’entreprise effectue l'optimisation du procédé au niveau du laboratoire et accompagne le scale-up jusqu'au niveau industriel. Enfin, elle développe et fournit les installations de production industrielle.

RedElec a reçu le Prix Debiopharm Valais pour les sciences de la vie en 2009 et le prix de la Fondation Liechti en 2008.

 

Le soutien de la Fondation The Ark

RedElec Technologie a rejoint l’Incubateur The Ark sur le site du BioArk à Monthey en avril 2007, où elle y est restée jusqu’en 2010. L’entreprise a pu bénéficier d’infrastructures spécialement dédiées à son activité. Le coaching de l’Incubateur The Ark a permis de soutenir la réflexion de l’entrepreneur sur un modèle d’affaire cohérent et la mise en place d’une structure juridique appropriée. Un large support a également été donné à la mise en place de partenariats commerciaux et financiers.

 

Année de fondation : 2007
Directeur : David Crettenand
Adresse : Rue des Artisans 14, 1908 Riddes
Téléphone : +41 (0) 27 306 55 20
Web : www.redelec.ch
Contact :  davidcrettenand [at] redelec.ch
Nombre d’employés : 3

Fondation The Ark - Route du Rawyl 47 - 1950 Sion - Suisse | Intranet The Ark