Home

Back

Myotest

For Myotest, it all began int 1996, when Manu Praz approached the Infotronics unit of the HES-SO Valais, asking it to develop a simple, accurate, portable system for measuring muscular strength. A device that used accelerometer sensors to measure basic movements was developed and tested by professional sports trainers.

Patrick Flaction, who at the time was trainer to the Swiss ski team, was so convinced of the device’s usefulness and potential that he gave up his position as trainer in order to focus on optimising it. His aim was to be able to take the same measurements as those taken by laboratory systems, but to do so in the field, in real-life training conditions.

In 2004, Patrick Flaction founded the company Acceltec SA – which became Myotest SA – to meet a growing need in the sport and healthcare sectors to be able to assess all types of movement, whether from a preventive, healthcare or sporting performance standpoint.

 

Activity and development

With share capital of three million Swiss francs and the backing of a group of professional investors, Myotest has its registered office in Sion, a subsidiary company in the United States and another in France to deal with its exports throughout Europe. Myotest has been scientifically validated and has become the international standard in the sport and healthcare sectors: it is distributed in 35 countries, with eight patents in five continents and over 10,000 users. The company, which currently employs 8 full-time staff in Switzerland and over a dozen part-time staff, is actively involved in the region’s economic fabric.

The possibilities for growth are enormous. With the development of two new brands, Myotest TECH (integration of technology) and Myotest CARE (measuring the physical health of employees), Myotest is set to increase its workforce to around forty people over the next three years. The company has just signed a very big contract in the United States with a sports equipment manufacturer who will incorporate Valaisan know-how and technology into its products. In the healthcare field, a completely new programme for the prevention of back pain has been launched, in conjunction with the Swiss co-operative enterprise Migros. Other major businesses, and some insurance companies and municipal authorities, are already showing considerable interest in this revolutionary programme.

 

Support from The Ark Foundation

Myotest joined The Ark’s Incubator in 2004, at the TechnoArk site at Sierre, where it developed its first product. The period spent at The Ark helped it to lay the foundations for its commercial development and, in particular, to establish a business structure that enabled it to attract private investors, who continue to support Myotest in its international development.
 
 

Date founded: 2004
Director: Patrick Flaction
AddressRue de la Blancherie 61, 1950 Sion, Switzerland
Telephone+41 27.456.18.20
Websitewww.myotest.com
Number of employees: 8
Fondation The Ark - Route du Rawyl 47 - 1950 Sion - Suisse | Intranet The Ark

Home

Retour

Myotest

Pour Myotest, tout commence en 1996, lorsque Manu Praz approche l’unité Infotronics de la HEVs pour lui demander de développer un système simple, précis et portable de mesure de la force musculaire. Un appareil utilisant des capteurs accélérométriques permettant de mesurer des mouvements de base est mis au point et testé par des professionnels de l’entraînement.

Patrick Flaction, alors entraîneur de l’équipe suisse de ski, est convaincu de l’utilité et du potentiel de l’appareil, M. Flaction stoppe son activité d’entraîneur et se consacre à son optimisation avec pour leitmotiv de rendre réalisable des mesures identiques à celles effectuées en laboratoires mais de manière simple, directement sur le terrain, en conditions réelles d’entraînement.

Patrick Flaction crée en 2004 la société Acceltec SA - qui deviendra Myotest SA - pour répondre à un besoin de plus en plus grandissant des milieux du sport et de la santé : celui de pouvoir évaluer tout type de mouvements que ce soit dans le domaine de la prévention, de la santé comme de la performance sportive.

 

Activité et développement

Avec un capital-actions de trois millions de francs et forte d’un groupe d’investisseurs professionnels, Myotest a son siège social à Sion, une filiale aux Etats-Unis et une en France pour ses exportations sur l’Europe. Myotest s’est imposé comme un standard international dans les milieux du sport et de la santé : une distribution dans 35 pays, des validations scientifiques, huit brevets sur les cinq continents et plus de 10.000 utilisateurs. Myotest emploie actuellement 8 personnes à plein temps en Suisse et une quinzaine de personnes à temps partiel. L’entreprise collabore avec le tissu économique de la région.

 

Les perspectives de croissance sont très importantes. Avec le développement de deux nouvelles marques Myotest TECH (intégration technologique) et Myotest CARE (mesure de la santé corporelle des collaborateurs), Myotest devrait compter une quarantaine de collaborateurs d’ici trois ans. L’entreprise vient en effet de signer un très gros contrat aux Etats-Unis avec un équipementier sportif qui va intégrer le savoir-faire et la technologie valaisanne dans ses produits. Dans le domaine de la santé, c’est avec la Migros qu’un tout nouveau programme de prévention des maux de dos a démarré. D’autres grandes entreprises, des assurances et des villes montrent déjà un grand intérêt pour ce programme révolutionnaire.

 

Soutien de la Fondation The Ark

Myotest a intégré en 2004 l’Incubateur The Ark sur le site du TechnoArk à Sierre. L’entreprise y a développé son premier produit. Le passage dans la structure The Ark a permis de poser les bases de son développement commercial et surtout de mettre en place une structure professionnelle permettant d’attirer des investisseurs privés qui, aujourd’hui encore, soutiennent Myotest dans son développement international.
 
 

Année de fondation : 2004
Directeur : Patrick Flaction
Adresse : Rue de la Blancherie 61, 1950 Sion
Téléphone : +41 27.456.18.20
Web www.myotest.com
Contact : paf [at] myotest.com
Nombre d'employés : 8
Fondation The Ark - Route du Rawyl 47 - 1950 Sion - Suisse | Intranet The Ark