Home

Back

Mimotec SA

Mimotec SA was founded in November 1998 as a result of a thesis by its CEO Hubert Lorenz. Since it was created, the company has gained a good reputation in Switzerland and abroad as a leader in the fields of microtechnology and micromechanics. Based in Sion, it is one of the essential players in the Swiss watchmaking industry.

 

Technology

Mimotec SA specialises in the manufacture of microcomponents using the “LIGA” process (lithography, electroplating and moulding), with the difference that it uses an ultraviolet light source rather than X-rays.
The advantages of this method are that it is inexpensive and can be implemented quickly, which makes the process very competitive in comparison with traditional methods (electro-erosion, swaging). It also provides some interesting perspectives regarding the miniaturisation of components. The precision of parts manufactured by Mimotec SA is +/- 2 microns (i.e. two-thousandths of a millimetre).

 

Activities and products

Mimotec SA has built up an excellent reputation in the world of luxury watchmaking. It manufactures in particular miniature cogs and springs for watch mechanisms.

In partnership with its subsidiary Sigatec, the company offers the option of customising its miniature components (by means of the LIGA technologies in association with silicon engraving). Used mainly for decorative purposes, this technique may also be of interest in the identification of components to prevent counterfeiting.

Mimotec SA also benefits from interesting prospects in the micro moulding and plastic injection sectors. Numerous applications in this field require inserts with microcavities or microstructures that are difficult to produce using traditional methods. The LIGA technologies enable the limits of miniaturisation to be stretched. Nickel plates made using the LIGA process have a service life appropriate for the injection of millions of parts. There are also opportunities in the biomedical field.

More than 2,500 different articles are produced each year by Mimotec at its Sion site. Almost all of its turnover is generated outside Valais.

 

Support of The Ark Foundation 

The Ark (via CimArk) has been involved in the Mimotec project since 1997. It has helped the company to define its strategy, its product lines and its partnerships, and contributed to the development of a business plan and to sourcing funds. Other innovative projects are also under way.
 

Date founded: 1998
Director:  Hubert Lorenz
Address:  Route des Iles 20, 1950 Sion
Telephone:  +41 (0) 27 329 09 09
Website: www.mimotec.ch
Email: hubert.lorenz [at] mimotec.ch
Number of employees: 30
Fondation The Ark - Route du Rawyl 47 - 1950 Sion - Suisse | Intranet The Ark

Home

Retour

Mimotec SA

L’entreprise Mimotec SA a été fondée en novembre 1998 à la suite du travail de thèse de son CEO Hubert Lorenz.  Depuis sa création, la société est reconnue en Suisse et à l’étranger comme un leader dans les domaines de la microtechnique et de la micromécanique. Basée à Sion, elle est même l’un des partenaires essentiels de l’industrie horlogère suisse.

 

La technologie

Mimotec SA  fabrique notamment des microcomposants en utilisant le procédé « LIGA » (Lithographie, galvanoplastie, électroformage), à la différence près que l’entreprise utilise une source lumineuse ultraviolette plutôt que des rayons-X.

Cette technique a l’avantage d’être peu coûteuse et de pouvoir être rapidement mise en œuvre, ce qui rend le procédé très compétitif face aux méthodes traditionnelles (électroérosion, étampage). Elle offre en outre des perspectives intéressantes dans la miniaturisation des composants.  La précision des pièces fabriquées par Mimotec SA atteint +/- 2 microns (soit deux millièmes de millimètres).

 

Les domaines d’activités 

A ce jour, Mimotec SA a acquis une grande notoriété dans le monde de la haute horlogerie. Elle fabrique notamment des roues miniatures, des ressorts pour les mécanismes des montres.

En partenariat avec sa filiale Sigatec, l’entreprise permet même de personnaliser ses composants miniatures (via les technologies LIGA , associées à une gravure silicium). Utilisée principalement à des fins décoratives, cette technique peut également être intéressante dans l’identification des composants, afin de prévenir la contrefaçon.

Mimotec SA bénéficie en outre de débouchés intéressants dans le secteur des micromoules et de l’injection plastique. De nombreuses applications dans ce domaine nécessitent en effet des inserts dotés de microcavités ou de microstructures difficilement réalisables par des méthodes traditionnelles. La technologie LIGA permet, dans ce domaine, de repousser les limites de la miniaturisation. Les plaquettes en nickel issues du procédé LIGA ont une durée de vie qui permet l’injection de millions de pièces.  Elle trouve également des débouchés dans le domaine biomédical.

Plus de 2’500 articles différents sont produits chaque année par Mimotec sur son site de Sion. La quasi-totalité de son chiffre d’affaires est réalisé hors du Valais.

 

Soutien de la Fondation The Ark   

The Ark (via CimArk) s’est impliqué dans le projet Mimotec dès 1997. Elle a aidé l’entreprise à définir sa stratégie, sa ligne de produits et ses partenariats. Elle a également participé à l’élaboration d’un business plan et à la recherche de fonds. D’autres projets d’innovation sont actuellement en cours.

 

Année de fondation : 1998
Directeur : Hubert Lorenz
Adresse : Route des Iles 20, 1950 Sion
Téléphone : +41 (0) 27 329 09 09
Web :  www.mimotec.ch
Contact :  hubert.lorenz [at] mimotec.ch
Nombre d’employés : 30
 
Fondation The Ark - Route du Rawyl 47 - 1950 Sion - Suisse | Intranet The Ark