Home

Back

Koemei SA

Koemei SA was created in November 2010. Its registered office is in Martigny (IdeArk). A spin-off of the Idiap research institute, the company markets a cloud voice recognition software package, enabling verbal input to be transcribed automatically to text.

Koemei
thus develops for commercial use the work carried out under a European research programme on voice recognition in the context of multi-participant meetings. After more than 8 years’ work and an investment of almost EUR 20 million, the Idiap, together with the UK universities of Sheffield and Edinburgh, granted Koemei a licence to market the results of their research.

Thanks to Koemei’s technology, it is now possible to transcribe audio recordings to text in perfectly acceptable quality, without restricting speakers to using a specific vocabulary. The overall performance of a voice recognition engine is often measured by the error rate of the transcribed words. The error rate of the solutions on the market is around 50%. The most recent projects undertaken with the recognition engine used by Koemei have given an average error rate of less than 20% with normal speech and several speakers, and over 90% accuracy with speech adapted for voice recognition. These rates enable the transcription results to be used efficiently as they are comprehensible and require the minimum human processing input.

This opens the way to the automatic transcription of conversations at meetings, conferences and university courses, with audio recordings being automatically converted to text files in which it is possible to find specific sequences using Google-type searches. Moreover, in conjunction with speaker recognition technology, the voice recognition implemented by Koemei enables not only the transcription of what is said in a conversation, but also the identification of who said what.

Based on this technology, Koemei has perfected a “cloud” version publicly available on www.koemei.com. In addition to its cloud service, Koemei now also offers its clients a “speech-to-text” transcription solution in the form of an API in line with the SaaS (“software as a service”) model. The objective is for companies, IT service providers and application developers to integrate the Koemei solution into their products.

 

Support of The Ark Foundation

Koemei joined The Ark Incubator in 2010, on the IdeArk site at Martigny. Here, it benefits from support services for start-up companies (premises, coaching, etc.)

 

Date founded: 2010
Director: Temitope Ola
Address: Rue Marconi 19, 1920 Martigny
Telephone:  -
Website: www.koemei.com
E-mail: temitope.ola [at] koemei.com
Number of employees: 7
 
Fondation The Ark - Route du Rawyl 47 - 1950 Sion - Suisse | Intranet The Ark

Home

Retour

Koemei SA

La société Koemei SA a été créée en Novembre 2010. Son siège social est basé à Martigny (IdeArk). Spin-off de l’Idiap, la société commercialise un logiciel ‘‘cloud’’ de reconnaissance vocale, permettant de transcrire automatiquement la parole  en textes.

Koemei valorise ainsi les travaux effectués dans le cadre d’un programme de recherche européen sur la reconnaissance vocale dans le cadre des reunions multi-parties. En effet, après plus de 8 ans de travaux et pres de 20 millions d’euros d’investissements, l’Idiap ainsi que les Universités de Sheffield (GB) et d’Edinburgh (Ecosse), ont accordé à Koemei une licence de commercialsation sur les résultats de leurs recherches.

Grâce à la technologie de
Koemei, il est aujourd’hui possible de transcrire les enregistrements audio en texte avec une qualité tout à fait acceptable et ce même sans contraindre les locuteurs à utiliser un vocabulaire précis. Les performances brutes d'un moteur de reconnaissance vocale sont souvent mesurées par le  taux d'erreur moyen de mots transcrits. Le taux d’erreur moyen des solutions sur le marché  est  de  l’ordre  d’environ 50% . Les derniers réalisés avec le moteur de reconnaissance utilisé par Koemei ont donné les taux d’erreurs moyens suivants : moins de 20% avec un discours normal et avec plusieurs interlocuteurs et  de moins de 10% avec un discours adapté à la reconnaissance vocale. Ces taux permettent une exploitation efficace des résultats car ils deviennent compréhensibles et nécessitent un minimum  traitement humain.

Ils ouvrent ainsi la porte à une transcription automatique de conversation lors de réunions, de conférences ou de cours universitaires dont les
enregistrements audio sont automatiquement transformés en fichiers « texte » sur lesquels il est possible d’effectuer des recherches du type Google afin de retrouver des séquences bien précises. De plus, en association avec la technologie de séparation des locuteurs, la reconnaissance vocale mise en œuvre par Koemei permet de transcrire en texte ce qui est dit lors d’une conversation et de retrouver qui a dit quoi.

Sur la base de cette technologie, Koemei a mis au point une v
ersion  «Cloud»  publiquement disponnible sur www.koemei.com. Aujourdhui, en plus du service «cloud» Koemei offre  à ses clients sa solution de de transcription « speech-to-text » sous la forme d’une API selon le modèle «software as a service». L’objectif étant que des entreprises, fournisseurs de services informatiques ou des développeurs d’applications intègrent la solution Koemei dans leurs produits.

 

Soutien de la Fondation The Ark

Koemei a rejoint l’Incubateur The Ark en 2010, sur le site de l’IdeArk à  Martigny. Elle y bénéficie des prestations de soutien aux entreprises en démarrage (locaux, coaching, …).

 

Année de fondation: 2010
Directeur: Temitope Ola
Adresse: Rue Marconi 19, 1920 Martigny
Téléphone:  -
Web: www.koemei.com
Contact: temitope.ola [at] koemei.com
Nombre d’employés: 7
 
Fondation The Ark - Route du Rawyl 47 - 1950 Sion - Suisse | Intranet The Ark