RedElec Technologie SA is a public limited company created in June 2007. A spin-off of the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich (ETHZ), it is the proponent of an innovative electrochemical process.

The company develops and markets a new electrochemical technology enabling redox (reduction-oxidation) transformations to be undertaken more cost-effectively and with less environmental impact, on the actual production site.


RedElec, an economical and ecological solution

The electrochemical reduction of an aqueous suspension of indigo is the first industrial application of the process developed by RedElec Technologie SA. This transformation is a necessary stage in the cotton dyeing process for the denim industry (the fabric used for the production of jeans).

The RedElec Technologie SA solution enables ready-to-use dye to be produced on the actual denim production site, in other words directly at the ‘point of use’. It is more economical and more environmentally friendly than other processes currently used in the denim industry. In parallel to this primary market, RedElec is also involved in the development of a process for the elimination of refractory pollutants resulting from water treatment. The electrochemical technology offers an advanced oxidation process.

Working for companies in the chemical, pharmaceutical, agrochemical and biotechnological industries, RedElec Technologie SA is researching the electrochemical alternative for the problematic redox transformation stages of their production processes and for the opening up of new synthesis paths. The company is currently optimising the process in the laboratory and monitoring the scale-up to industrial level. It also develops and supplies industrial production installations.

RedElec was awarded the Prix Debiopharm Valais for life sciences in 2009 and the Liechti Foundation award in 2008.


Support of The Ark Foundation

RedElec Technologie joined The Ark’s Incubator at the BioArk site in Monthey in April 2007, and remained there until 2010. Here, the company benefited from infrastructures specially dedicated to its activities. Coaching by The Ark’s Incubator supported the entrepreneur in considering a complete business model and implementing an appropriate legal structure. Substantial support was also given for the establishment of commercial and financial partnerships.


Date founded: 2007
Director: David Crettenand
Address: Rue des Artisans 14, 1908 Riddes
Telephone: +41 (0) 27 306 55 20
Website: www.redelec.ch
Email: davidcrettenand [at] redelec.ch
Number of employees: 3

Fondation The Ark - Route du Rawyl 47 - 1950 Sion - Suisse | Intranet The Ark

Home

Zurück

Redelec

RedElec Technologie SA ist eine im Juni 2007 gegründete Schweizer Aktiengesellschaft. Als Spin-off aus der Eidgenössischen Technischen Hochschule Zürich (ETHZ) entwickelt es ein innovatives elektrochemisches Verfahren.

Das Unternehmen entwickelt und vermarktet eine neue elektrochemische Technologie, mit deren Hilfe Redox-Umwandlungen (Reduktion oder Oxydation) extrem kostengünstig und umweltschonend direkt in der Produktionsstätte vorgenommen werden können.

 

RedElec, eine ökologische und ökonomische Lösung

Die elektrochemische Reduktion einer Indigo-Wasserlösung ist die erste industrielle Anwendung des von RedElec Technologie SA entwickelten Verfahrens. Diese Umwandlung ist ein notwendiger Fertigungsschritt im Färbeprozess von Baumwolle für die Denim-Industrie (Jeansstoff).

Mit der von RedElec Technologie SA entwickelten Lösung kann der fertige Farbstoff direkt in der Produktionsstätte des Denims hergestellt werden, also unmittelbar am « Verwendungsort ». Im Vergleich zu den üblicherweise in der Denim-Industrie angewandten Verfahren ist diese Lösung kostengünstiger und viel umweltschonender. Parallel zu diesem ersten Markt entwickelt RedElec auch noch ein Verfahren zur Entfernung resistenter Schadstoffe bei der Wasseraufbereitung. Mit Hilfe dieser elektrochemischen Technologie kann ein innovatives Oxydationsverfahren realisiert werden.

Für die chemische, pharmazeutische, agrochemische und biotechnologische Industrie untersucht  RedElec Technologie SA die elektrochemische Alternative zu problematischen Redox-Umwandlungsstufen in den Herstellungsprozessen dieser Industrien sowie neue Möglichkeiten für Syntheseverfahren. Das Unternehmen führt diese Prozessoptimierung auf Laborebene durch und wir begleiten das Scale-up bis hin zum industriellen Level. Ausserdem entwickelt und liefert RedElec auch industrielle Anlagen.

RedElec erhielt 2009 den „Debiopharm Group Life Sciences Award“ und 2008 den „Coup de Coeur Preis“ der Liechti-Stiftung.

 

Unterstützung durch die Stiftung The Ark

Das Unternehmen RedElec Technologie ist im April 2007 in den Inkubator The Ark auf dem Gelände von BioArk in Monthey aufgenommen worden, wo es bis 2010 seiner Arbeit nachging. RedElec profitierte von der speziell auf seine Bedürfnisse zugeschnittenen Infrastruktur. Das Coaching im Inkubator The Ark ermöglichte es dem Unternehmer, sich mit dem Geschäftsmodell seines Unternehmens auseinanderzusetzen und eine entsprechende rechtliche Struktur zu schaffen. Ausserdem erhielt das Unternehmen Unterstützung bei der Suche nach Geschäfts- und Finanzpartnern.
 

Gründungsjahr: 2007
Direktor: David Crettenand
Adresse: Rue des Artisans 14, 1908 Riddes
Telefon: +41 (0) 27 306 55 20
Web: www.redelec.ch
Kontakt: davidcrettenand [at] redelec.ch
Anzahl Mitarbeiter: 3

Fondation The Ark - Route du Rawyl 47 - 1950 Sion - Suisse | Intranet The Ark