Home

Back

Mimotec SA

Mimotec SA was founded in November 1998 as a result of a thesis by its CEO Hubert Lorenz. Since it was created, the company has gained a good reputation in Switzerland and abroad as a leader in the fields of microtechnology and micromechanics. Based in Sion, it is one of the essential players in the Swiss watchmaking industry.

 

Technology

Mimotec SA specialises in the manufacture of microcomponents using the “LIGA” process (lithography, electroplating and moulding), with the difference that it uses an ultraviolet light source rather than X-rays.
The advantages of this method are that it is inexpensive and can be implemented quickly, which makes the process very competitive in comparison with traditional methods (electro-erosion, swaging). It also provides some interesting perspectives regarding the miniaturisation of components. The precision of parts manufactured by Mimotec SA is +/- 2 microns (i.e. two-thousandths of a millimetre).

 

Activities and products

Mimotec SA has built up an excellent reputation in the world of luxury watchmaking. It manufactures in particular miniature cogs and springs for watch mechanisms.

In partnership with its subsidiary Sigatec, the company offers the option of customising its miniature components (by means of the LIGA technologies in association with silicon engraving). Used mainly for decorative purposes, this technique may also be of interest in the identification of components to prevent counterfeiting.

Mimotec SA also benefits from interesting prospects in the micro moulding and plastic injection sectors. Numerous applications in this field require inserts with microcavities or microstructures that are difficult to produce using traditional methods. The LIGA technologies enable the limits of miniaturisation to be stretched. Nickel plates made using the LIGA process have a service life appropriate for the injection of millions of parts. There are also opportunities in the biomedical field.

More than 2,500 different articles are produced each year by Mimotec at its Sion site. Almost all of its turnover is generated outside Valais.

 

Support of The Ark Foundation 

The Ark (via CimArk) has been involved in the Mimotec project since 1997. It has helped the company to define its strategy, its product lines and its partnerships, and contributed to the development of a business plan and to sourcing funds. Other innovative projects are also under way.
 

Date founded: 1998
Director:  Hubert Lorenz
Address:  Route des Iles 20, 1950 Sion
Telephone:  +41 (0) 27 329 09 09
Website: www.mimotec.ch
Email: hubert.lorenz [at] mimotec.ch
Number of employees: 30
Fondation The Ark - Route du Rawyl 47 - 1950 Sion - Suisse | Intranet The Ark

Home

Zurück

Mimotec SA

Mimotec SA wurde im November 1998 im Anschluss an die Doktorarbeit seines CEO Dr. Hubert Lorenz gegründet. Seitdem ist das Unternehmen in der Schweiz und im Ausland als Leader in den Bereichen Mikrotechnik und Mikromechanik bekannt. Das in Sitten niedergelassene Unternehmen gilt inzwischen als einer der wichtigsten Partner der Schweizer Uhrenindustrie.

 

Technologie

Mimotec SA stellt vorwiegend Mikrokomponenten mit dem so genannten „LIGA-Verfahren“ her (Lithografie, Galvanik, Abformung), mit dem Unterschied, dass das Unternehmen eine UV-Lichtquelle anstelle von Röntgenstrahlen verwendet.

Diese Technik hat den Vorteil, preiswerter und schnell umsetzbar zu sein, was das Verfahren gegenüber den klassischen Methoden (Elektroerosion, Stanzen) sehr konkurrenzfähig macht. Ferner bietet sie interessante Perspektiven für die Miniaturisierung von Komponenten. Die Präzision der von Mimotec SA hergestellten Teile beträgt +/-2 Mikron (d. h. 0,002 Millimeter).

 

Geschäftsaktivitäten und Produkte

Mimotec SA hat in der Welt der Luxusuhrenherstellung einen hohen Bekanntheitsgrad erlangt. Das Unternehmen stellt insbesondere Miniaturräder und Federn für Uhrwerke her.

In Partnerschaft mit seiner Filiale Sigatec kann das Unternehmen sogar seine Miniaturkomponenten personalisieren (über LIGA-Technologien, gepaart mit einer Silizium-Gravur). Die vorherrschend zur Dekoration verwendete Technik wird auch zur Identifizierung der Komponenten interessant, um Fälschungen vorzubeugen.

Mimotec SA geniesst ausserdem interessante Absatzmöglichkeiten für Mikrospritzgussformen und Kunststoffeinspritzung. Zahlreiche Applikationen in diesem Bereich erfordern nämlich Einsätze mit Mikrovertiefungen oder Mikrostrukturen, die mit den klassischen Methoden schwer herzustellen sind. Mit der LIGA-Technologie können hier die Grenzen der Miniaturisierung überwunden werden. Die nach dem LIGA-Verfahren hergestellten Nickelspritzgussformen verfügen über eine Lebensdauer, die die Einspritzung von Millionen von Teilen möglich macht. Sie findet auch Anwendung in der Biomedizin.

Über 2'500 verschiedene Artikel werden jährlich von Mimotec am Standort Sitten hergestellt. Fast der gesamte Umsatz wird ausserhalb des Wallis realisiert.

 

Unterstützung durch die Stiftung The Ark  

The Ark hat sich (über CimArk) seit 1997 für das Projekt Mimotec eingesetzt. Sie hat dem Unternehmen geholfen, seine Strategie, seine Produktreihe und seine Partnerschaften zu definieren. Sie hat auch an der Ausarbeitung eines Geschäftsplans mitgewirkt und bei der Suche nach finanziellen Mitteln geholfen. Weitere Innovationsprojekte sind zurzeit in Bearbeitung.

 

Gründungsjahr: 1998
Geschäftsführer: Hubert Lorenz
Adresse: Route des Iles 20, 1950 Sitten
Telefon: +41 (0) 27 329 09 09
Internet: www.mimotec.ch
Kontakt: hubert.lorenz [at] mimotec.ch
Anzahl Mitarbeiter: 30
Fondation The Ark - Route du Rawyl 47 - 1950 Sion - Suisse | Intranet The Ark