Home

Back

Koemei SA

Koemei SA was created in November 2010. Its registered office is in Martigny (IdeArk). A spin-off of the Idiap research institute, the company markets a cloud voice recognition software package, enabling verbal input to be transcribed automatically to text.

Koemei
thus develops for commercial use the work carried out under a European research programme on voice recognition in the context of multi-participant meetings. After more than 8 years’ work and an investment of almost EUR 20 million, the Idiap, together with the UK universities of Sheffield and Edinburgh, granted Koemei a licence to market the results of their research.

Thanks to Koemei’s technology, it is now possible to transcribe audio recordings to text in perfectly acceptable quality, without restricting speakers to using a specific vocabulary. The overall performance of a voice recognition engine is often measured by the error rate of the transcribed words. The error rate of the solutions on the market is around 50%. The most recent projects undertaken with the recognition engine used by Koemei have given an average error rate of less than 20% with normal speech and several speakers, and over 90% accuracy with speech adapted for voice recognition. These rates enable the transcription results to be used efficiently as they are comprehensible and require the minimum human processing input.

This opens the way to the automatic transcription of conversations at meetings, conferences and university courses, with audio recordings being automatically converted to text files in which it is possible to find specific sequences using Google-type searches. Moreover, in conjunction with speaker recognition technology, the voice recognition implemented by Koemei enables not only the transcription of what is said in a conversation, but also the identification of who said what.

Based on this technology, Koemei has perfected a “cloud” version publicly available on www.koemei.com. In addition to its cloud service, Koemei now also offers its clients a “speech-to-text” transcription solution in the form of an API in line with the SaaS (“software as a service”) model. The objective is for companies, IT service providers and application developers to integrate the Koemei solution into their products.

 

Support of The Ark Foundation

Koemei joined The Ark Incubator in 2010, on the IdeArk site at Martigny. Here, it benefits from support services for start-up companies (premises, coaching, etc.)

 

Date founded: 2010
Director: Temitope Ola
Address: Rue Marconi 19, 1920 Martigny
Telephone:  -
Website: www.koemei.com
E-mail: temitope.ola [at] koemei.com
Number of employees: 7
 
Fondation The Ark - Route du Rawyl 47 - 1950 Sion - Suisse | Intranet The Ark

Home

Zurück

Koemei SA

Die Firma Koemei SA wurde im November 2010 gegründet. Der Sitz des Unternehmens befindet sich in Martinach (IdeArk). Koemei, ein Spin-off des IDIAP, vermarktet eine „Cloud“-Software zur Spracherkennung, die es ermöglicht, das gesprochene Wort automatisch in Text zu übertragen.

Koemei
verwertet somit die Arbeiten, die im Rahmen eines europäischen Forschungsprogramms über die Spracherkennung in Meetings mit mehreren Parteien ausgeführt wurden. Nach über 8 Jahren Forschungsarbeiten und fast 20 Millionen Euro Investitionen haben die IDIAP sowie die Universitäten von Sheffield (GB) und Edinburgh (GB) Koemei eine Vertriebslizenz für ihre Forschungsergebnisse erteilt.

Dank der Technologie von
Koemei ist es heute möglich, Audioaufzeichnungen in Text zu übertragen – und dies in einer völlig akzeptablen Qualität und sogar ohne die Sprecher auf die Verwendung eines bestimmten Wortschatzes festzulegen. Die Bruttoleistungen eines Spracherkennungsmoduls werden oft anhand der durchschnittlichen Fehlerquote für übertragene Wörter gemessen. Die durchschnittliche Fehlerquote der am Markt erhältlichen Lösungen liegt in der Grössenordnung von etwa 50 %. Die neuesten Lösungen, die mit dem von Koemei verwendeten Spracherkennungsmodul umgesetzt wurden, haben die folgenden durchschnittlichen Fehlerquoten ergeben: weniger als 20 % bei einer normalen Rede und mit mehreren Gesprächsteilnehmern, und weniger als 10 % bei einer an die Spracherkennung angepassten Rede. Diese Fehlerquoten ermöglichen eine effiziente Auswertung der Ergebnisse, denn sie werden verständlich und erfordern nur eine minimale menschliche Nachbearbeitung.

Sie eröffnen auch die Möglichkeit einer automatischen Transkription von Gesprächen in Besprechungen, Konferenzen oder Universitätsvorlesungen, deren Audioaufzeichnungen automatisch in „Text“-Dateien umgewandelt werden, in denen es möglich ist, Suchvorgänge ähnlich wie in Google auszuführen, um sehr präzise Sequenzen zu finden. Ausserdem bietet die von
Koemei eingesetzte Sprachtechnologie in Verbindung mit der Sprechertrennungs-Technologie die Möglichkeit, das in einem Gespräch Gesagte in Text zu übertragen und nachzuvollziehen, wer was gesagt hat.

Auf der Grundlage dieser Technologie hat Koemei eine „Cloud“-Version entwickelt, die auf
www.koemei.com öffentlich verfügbar ist. Heute bietet Koemei seinen Kunden neben dem „Cloud“-Service seine „Speech-to-Text“-Transkriptionslösung in Form einer API nach dem SaaS-Modell („Software as a Service“). Ziel ist es, dass Unternehmen, IT-Service-Provider oder Anwendungsentwickler die Koemei-Lösung in ihre Produkte integrieren.

 

Unterstützung der Stiftung The Ark

Koemei wurde 2010 in den Inkubator von The Ark am Standort IdeArk in Martinach aufgenommen. Das Unternehmen profitiert dort von Unterstützungsleistungen für Startup-Unternehmen (Geschäftsräume, Coaching ...).

 

Gründungsjahr: 2010
Geschäftsführer: Temitope Ola
Adresse: Rue Marconi 19, 1920 Martinach
Telefon:  -
Internet: www.koemei.com
Kontakt: temitope.ola [at] koemei.com
Anzahl Mitarbeitende: 7
 
Fondation The Ark - Route du Rawyl 47 - 1950 Sion - Suisse | Intranet The Ark