Home

Back

ExcellGene

A spin-off from the École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), ExcellGene uses mammalian cells to produce clinical proteins (i.e. proteins that can be injected into human beings) and pre-clinical proteins (used in research). The cells are genetically modified and cultivated in bioreactors.

 

The technology

When a new drug or vaccine is being developed, the culture of mammalian cells is essential in order to produce the proteins on which the new products are based. This process, which involves producing proteins in bioreactors with a capacity as high as 10,000 litres, is lengthy and expensive.
 

ExcellGene has perfected several technologies which use bioreactors the size of a laboratory tube, making them cheaper and more flexible. This is a major advance in biotechnology that has made ExcellGene one of the world leaders in this particular field. The Monthey-based company is able to multiply the productivity of mammalian cell cultures by 20, or even more. In addition, its advanced technology has reduced the cost of developing production processes by a factor of 500, compared with standard methods. ExcellGene can handle small quantities (under 100 litres) as well as larger volumes.


Faster, more flexible, and cheaper: ExcellGene has the ability to attract the giants of the pharmacy and biotechnology industries, who are under constant pressure to reduce the time required to bring new drugs to market.

 
 
 

Client base

ExcellGene has clients throughout the world, in Europe, Asia and America. It currently employs around 30 people at its site in BioArk at Monthey, and by 2020 it expects this figure to have grown to 100.


 
 

The support of The Ark Foundation

ExcellGene is based at the BioArk technology site at Monthey, where it receives support in becoming established plus various other services. 
 
 

Date founded: 2001
Directors: Florian Wurm / Maria Wurm
AddressRoute de l’Ile-au-Bois 1a, 1870 Monthey
Telephone+41 (0) 24 471 96 60
Website: www.excellgene.com
Emailcontact [at] excellgene.com
Number of employees: 30
Fondation The Ark - Route du Rawyl 47 - 1950 Sion - Suisse | Intranet The Ark

Home

Zurück

ExcellGene

ExcellGene, Spin-off der EPFL (Ecole polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne), stellt mit Hilfe tierischer Zellen Proteine für klinische Anwendungen (d. h. sie können dem Menschen injiziert werden) und Proteine für vorklinische Studien (d. h. zu Forschungszwecken) her. Die tierischen Zellen werden genetisch modifiziert und in Bioreaktoren kultiviert.


 

 

Die Technologie

Die Entwicklung eines Medikaments oder Impfstoffes findet zwangläufig mit Hilfe tierischer Zellkulturen statt, um Proteine als Grundlage für neue Produkte herzustellen. Dieses Verfahren, für das Produktionsprozesse in Bioreaktoren mit einem Fassungsvermögen von bis zu 10.000 Litern erforderlich sind, ist langwierig und kostenintensiv.
 

Das Unternehmen ExcellGene hat seinerseits mehrere einfachere Verfahren entwickelt, für die Bioreaktoren in der Grösse von Reagenzgläsern verwendet werden. Es handelt sich dabei um einen grossen Fortschritt in der Biotechnik, durch den ExcellGene sich einen Rang unter den Weltmarktführern in dieser besonderen Branche sichert. Das in Monthey ansässige Unternehmen kann die Produktivität von Zellkulturen von Säugetieren um mehr als das 20fache steigern. Ausserdem, sind dank seiner fortgeschrittenen Technologien die Produktionskosten 500 Mal niedriger als bei herkömmlichen Verfahren. ExcellGene kann kleine Mengen (unter 100 Liter) sowie auch viel grössere Mengen verarbeiten.
 

Schneller, leichter, billiger: ExcellGene bietet Einiges, womit es die Firmenriesen der pharmazeutischen und biotechnischen Industrie überzeugen kann, die unaufhörlich daran arbeiten, die Entwicklungszeiten für die Markteinführung neuer Medikamente zu verkürzen.

 
 
 

Kundenkreis

ExcellGene hat einen weltweiten Kundenstamm, von Europa bis Asien und in vielen Ländern Amerikas. Das Unternehmen beschäftigt gegenwärtig ca. 30 Mitarbeiter in seinem Werk im BioArk in Monthey. Bis zum Jahre 2020 wird die Zahl der Mitarbeiter voraussichtlich bis auf 100 steigen .

 

Unterstützung durch die Stiftung The Ark              

ExcellGene hat seinen Firmensitz im Technologiepark BioArk in Monthey. Es profitiert von der Unterstützung für neue Firmengründungen und verschiedenen anderen Serviceangeboten.
 
 

Gründungsjahr: 2001
Direktor: Florian Wurm / Maria Wurm
AdresseRoute de l’Ile-au-Bois 1a, 1870 Monthey
Telefon+41 (0) 24 471 96 60
Webwww.excellgene.com
Kontaktcontact [at] excellgene.com
Anzahl Mitarbeiter: 30
Fondation The Ark - Route du Rawyl 47 - 1950 Sion - Suisse | Intranet The Ark